The German Embassy Compound in Addis Ababa

On the occasion of a German special delegation visiting Ethiopia on behalf of German Emperor Wilhelm II, the Ethio-German Trade and Friendship Treaty was signed on 7 March 1905. This agreement laid the foundation for permanent diplomatic relations.

In 1906, Ethiopian Emperor Menelik II assigned, based on reciprocity, a terrain by the Kabana river in today’s Yeka district to the German Emperor to be used free of charge and for an unlimited period of time for Embassy purposes. In the same year the construction of the building for the German Imperial Legation began and was finished in 1907.

Today, the compound hosts several administrative and residential buildings and the Ambassador’s residency. From the original buildings, dating back to the beginning of last century, only the porter’s house at the Embassy’s main gate is in its original state. The new residency dates back to the year 1932. Most of the other buildings were erected during the 1950s and 1960s when the Embassy moved back into the compound after World War II.

The German Embassy compound, together with several other Embassy compounds, constitutes a “green lung” in Addis Ababa and serves as a refuge for a number of endemic plants which are hardly found anywhere else in the capital and its surroundings.

Accessibility of the German Embassy

Generally, accessibility is rather limited in Addis Ababa. While the international airport of Addis Ababa is overall adequately accessible, public transport, (foot-) paths and sidewalks, as well as to...

Embassy Compound

Das Botschaftsgelände in Addis Abeba

Während des Besuchs einer von Kaiser Wilhelm II. entsandten deutschen Sonderdelegation wurde am 07. März 1905 der deutsch-äthiopische Handels- und Freundschaftsvertrag unterzeichnet, der die Grundlage für die Aufnahme der ständigen diplomatischen Beziehungen bildete. 

Im Jahr 1906 übergab der äthiopische Kaiser Menelik II. dem deutschen Kaiser Wilhelm II. auf der Grundlage der Gegenseitigkeit ein Areal am Flüßchen Kabana im heutigen Stadtteil Yeka zur unbefristeten und unentgeltlichen Nutzung für Botschaftszwecke. Im gleichen Jahr wurde mit dem Bau des Gebäudes der „Kaiserlich Deutschen Gesandtschaft“ begonnen, das im Jahr 1907 fertiggestellt wurde.

Heute sind auf dem Botschaftsgelände diverse Kanzleigebäude, die Residenz des Botschafters sowie mehrere Dienstwohngebäude untergebracht. Von der ursprünglichen Bebauung vom Beginn des vergangenen Jahrhunderts ist nur noch das Pförtnerhäuschen am Haupttor der Botschaft im Originalzustand erhalten. Das heutige Residenzgebäude stammt aus dem Jahr 1932. Der Großteil der übrigen Gebäude wurde in der Zeit des Wiederbezugs nach dem 2. Weltkrieg in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren errichtet.

Das Gelände der deutschen Botschaft stellt sich heute ebenso wie die Grundstücke mehrerer anderer Botschaften als „grüne Lunge“ und als ein Refugium für eine Reihe einheimischer Pflanzen dar, die ansonsten in der Hauptstadt und im Umland immer seltener zu finden sind.

Barrierefreiheit

Im Allgemeinen ist die Barrierefreiheit in Addis Abeba stark eingeschränkt. Während der internationale Flughafen von Addis Abeba noch weitgehend barrierefrei gestaltet ist, sind der öffentliche Nahver...

Kanzlei und Residenz