Research and technology

Outstanding research: a high-tech microscope

Science – a powerhouse of ideas

Scientific insights that can change our world are at the centre of a special scientific conference in Berlin. Twenty top international scientists from the natural sciences, humanities, life science, economics and technology, will be presenting their specialist disciplines at the third “Falling Walls Conference” which is being staged in the German capital on November 9, the anniversary of the fall of the Wall.

Research and technology

Today, research and development-intensive industries account for more than half of all industrial production in Germany. Here you will find information about the major German research institutions.

Flachbildschirme bei der IFa

High-Tech Strategy 2020 for Germany

We want to be able to turn knowledge and ideas into new innovations as rapidly as possible. The German Government is therefore actively pursuing an ambitious strategy for innovation, its High-Tech Strategy 2020.

Alexander von Humboldt

Kosmos Humboldt website - www.kosmos-humboldt.org

Alexander von Humboldt is seen as the last great universal scholar. The first environmental activist, humanist, world traveller and international cosmopolitan. But what is behind the legend?

International students at the Free University in Berlin

internet reportage - 12 scientists

"Nanotechnology offers fascinating possibilities"

Dr. Cinzia Casiraghi, Project Director at the Institute for Experimental Physics at the Free University in Berlin

Cinzia Casiraghi from Italy is conducting research into graphene, a recently discovered carbon material. This high-tech substance has great potential - above all, in the areas of electrical engineering and computer technology. Germany is one of the leading countries in nanotechnology. As a top-rank junior researcher in this innovative research field, the Italian was honoured with the prestigious German Sofja Kovalesvskaja Award iin 2008, which has enabled her to set up her own research group at the Free University in Berlin.

Research and technology

Gear factory ZF Friedrichshafen

German inventive genius that changed the world

Carl Benz´s first patent automobile

Single cylinder, about 0.9 hp and a top speed of 12 km per hour: the German engineer Carl Benz revolutionized mobility 125 years ago with his patent automobile (photograph). His invention of 1886 is regarded as the world’s first car, and is very reminiscent of a coach without the horse. At that time, this strange looking three-wheeler with a petrol engine certainly raised a few doubtful eyebrows.

Environment

Windpark

A new twist on renewable energy in Leipzig.

Forschung und Technologie

Exzellente Forschung: ein hochmodernes Mikroskop

Ideenschmiede Wissenschaft

Forschungserkenntnisse, die unsere Welt verändern können, stehen im Mittelpunkt einer besonderen Wissenschaftskonferenz in Berlin: Auf der dritten „Falling Walls Conference“, die zum Jahrestag des Mauerfalls am 9. November in der deutschen Hauptstadt veranstaltet wird, stellen 20 internationale Spitzenforscher aus den Bereichen Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften, Life Science, Wirtschaft und Technologie wissenschaftliche Meilensteine in ihren Fachdisziplinen vor.

Wasser

Forschung und Technologie

Heute entfällt mehr als die Hälfte der industriellen Produktion in Deutschland auf forschungs- und entwicklungsintensive Industrien. Hier informieren wir Sie über die wichtigsten deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen.

Alexander von Humboldt

Webseite „Kosmos Humboldt - www.kosmos-humboldt.org

Alexander von Humboldt gilt als der  letzte große Universalgelehrte. Als erster Umweltaktivist, als Humanist, als Weltreisender und Kosmopolit von internationalem Rang. Doch was ist dran am Mythos?

Internationale Studierende an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Internet-Reportage - 12 Wissenswelten

"Die Möglichkeiten der Nanotechnologie sind faszinierend"

Dr. Cinzia Casiraghi, Projektleiterin am Institut für Experimentalphysik der Freien Universität Berlin

Cinzia Casiraghi aus Italien erforscht das neu entdeckte Material Graphen. Die Hightech-Substanz hat viel Zukunftspotenzial, vor allem in der Elektro- und Computertechnik. Deutschland gehört in der Nanotechnologie zu den führenden Ländern. Als junge Spitzenforscherin in diesem innovativen Forschungsfeld ist die Italienerin 2008 mit dem hochdotierten deutschen Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis ausgezeichnet worden. Er macht es ihr möglich, eine eigene Forschungsgruppe an der Freien Universität Berlin aufzubauen.

Know-how in der Umsetzung: Erfolgsrezept der Ingenieurausbildung

Ingenieure made in Germany - Technik aus Deutschland

Wer an Deutschland denkt, denkt häufig an Dichter, Denker und Komponisten. Und an „made in Germany“, an Hightech- Produkte allerhöchster Qualität. Sie sind weltweit gefragt und rücken selbst den aus Stein gehauenen US-Präsidenten zu Leibe. Die technischen Erfolge verdankt das Land vor allem seinen Ingenieuren, denn sie sind ausgestattet mit breitem Fachwissen und der Fähigkeit, dies praktisch anzuwenden. Damit Deutschland Technologieprimus und Exportweltmeister bleibt, braucht es genügend Ingenieurnachwuchs – auch aus dem Ausland.

Forschung und Technologie

Prüfung eines Motorblocks

Deutscher Erfindergeist, der die Welt veränderte

Benz Patent-Motorwagen von 1886

Einzylinder, rund 0,9 PS und 12 Stundenkilometer Höchstgeschwindigkeit: Mit seinem Patent-Motorwagen (Foto) revolutionierte der deutsche Ingenieur Carl Benz vor 125 Jahren die Mobilität. Seine Erfindung aus dem Jahr 1886 gilt als das erste Automobil der Welt – und erinnert doch eher an eine Kutsche ohne Pferd. Das zu dieser Zeit seltsam wirkende Dreirad mit Benzinmotor sorgte für misstrauische Blicke.